You Wonder Why We’re Only Half-Ashamed?

La la-la la-la interesting idea.

I know what, “In some comments I brought up the possibility of seeing if the AAR could do anything at its annual meeting in San Francisco to help both SF and Oakland occupying movements. This thread is open for people to make suggestions about what exactly that could look like.”

You mean besides running a session in the Practical Theology stream at the 2012 Chicago conference on the “Occupy Wall Street: Meaning and Legacy”?

“I know this rubs academics the wrong way, but I still question the value of teach-ins. Folks have been teaching about gender theory, wage labour, and so on, for a long time and people have this weird way of thinking that because they talk about something they are doing something… and if they talk about something “radical” they must be doing something “radical”!”

I learned that at an anti-war teach-in in 2001, bro. And I talked like a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle even before then.

“When I was Toronto I was joking with some friends that the best thing I could do to support the Occupation there was throw a molotov into the Toronto Stock Exchange, while claiming to be a representative of their camp. I figured that would move them ahead at least five years in their analysis (“What is oppression?” “Aren’t we being oppressive by excluding the 1%?” “Yeah, man, we should call ourselves the 100%!” “I’m gonna block any call to refer to ourselves as the 99%!” [general applause]). It would also make things get serious.”

Unlike the Bourgeois Backpacka, this Poser Prophet knows how to share the booze.

“That’s a really interesting idea!”

Let’s take blood oaths like Klingons.

Blood oaths that I’ll drink even more at the San Francisco AAR/SBL than I drank at San Diego AAR/SBL.

Look around.

Can you blame us? Can you blame us?

4 responses

  1. Just FYI, I know you’re an equal oppurtunity piss taker, but Adam was being sarcastic. I was being earnest, but exploratory. Perhaps as Mao said I should just go shovel some shit.

    Are you going to the AAR in SF?

    November 3, 2011 at 12:40 am

  2. Militantly.

    November 3, 2011 at 10:27 am

  3. Shall we drink?

    November 3, 2011 at 5:35 pm

Leave a Reply

